News

GCDA Social Enterprise Training

GCDA is delighted to offer community organisations or individuals a free one day training course: An Introduction to Social Enterprise on
May 5th 2017 – 10am-4pm
Are you considering starting a social enterprise or are you thinking about selling your products or services?

This is a one day course covering the key aspects of developing social enterprise.
– Discussing and testing your idea
– The types of legal structures
– Developing trading income
– Potential sources of funding
– How to get started
To book a place please go to: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/introduction-to-social-enterprise-tickets-33525601978, Or for more information, contact: Sergio Olivares on 0208 269 4881 or email:  sergio@gcda.org.uk

 

 

 

Save New Cross Post Office

On 25th April at 9.30 am – 11.00 am there will be a Westminster Hall debate on Post Office closures. If you are free and able to attend, please come along and show your support against the closure of our and many other Post Offices.  Please arrive at least 30 minutes before hand to go through security.

Other ways you can help and keep up to date:
* Keep up to date via Facebook ‘like’ Save New Cross Gate Post Office
* Ask friends and family to sign the petition. They can be found in New Cross Learning and The Hill Station and the Royal Mail Sorting Office next to the Post Office, alternatively they can sign the online petition
* Attend the Post Office Debate on 25th April in Central Hall, House of Parliament at 9:30am
* Tell your family, neighbours and friends.

Thank you & best wishes,
Cllr Brenda Dacres

Brockley Max Seeking Volunteers

Brockley Max is a non-profit festival put on by local people to local people for local people. For nine days (2-10 June), some of Brockley, Ladywell, Honor Oak Park and Crofton Park’s venues will be host to music, poetry, reading, dance workshops and craft events. The festival is entirely volunteer-led. We need more hands on deck. Could you help? No experience necessary but we would like you to be enthusiastic and friendly. Expenses will be covered.

The types of roles we’re currently recruiting for include festival set-up crew, stewards, raffle ticket sellers and photographers. If you’re interested in volunteering, please complete the online form and we’ll be in touch.

Also please join us upstairs at The Talbot  on Thursday 13 April. We’re holding our first social for volunteers from 7.30-9.30pm. This is a brilliant opportunity to meet other team members and to discuss which events you’d like to be involved with.

For further queries and information, email Emma on vounteer@brockleymax.co.uk or visit www.brockleymax.co.uk

GCDA Cookery Clubs

GCDA is delighted to announce the next round of free Lewisham Cookery Clubs ‘Easy Quick and Tasty’! By preparing quick, affordable, healthy and delicious meals at our 5-week community cookery clubs you can learn that small changes to the way meals are prepared can make a big difference to your health and wellbeing. Everyone is welcome, from complete beginners to experienced cooks and participants receive a FREE cookery book on completion of the course

Where: 2000 Community Action Centre, 199-201 Grove Street, Deptford, SE8 3PG. When: 5 weeks starting Tuesday, 25th April from 10.30am–1.00pm 

Or
Where: The Lewisham Training Kitchen at The Green Man, 355 Bromley Road, SE6 2RP. When: 5 weeks starting Wednesday, 26th April from 10.30am–1.00pm 

Or
Where: St John’s Church, Lewisham Way & St John’s Vale, SE8 4EA
When: 5 weeks starting Thursday, 27th April from 10.30am–1.00pm

 To book, contact Fay on 0208 269 4886 or email fay@gcda.org.uk

Group Horizon training opportunities

Group Horizon provide nationally recognised, certificated training in a wide range of construction skills including: 
– 10 day Construction Skills Programme
– Solar Panel Installation
– Smart Meter Installation
As well as providing access into a range of apprenticeships and employment opportunities. 
Contact 0800 002 9805 or email south.east@grouphorizon.co.uk

Good News for New Cross Gate

At a time when far too many services are being cut back, we are pleased to announce that New Cross Gate Trust has just secured 4 years funding from the Big Lottery Fund, worth a total of £380,000, to support a new community based employment support service. 
This new service aims to help local people improve their IT skills, gain valuable job related certificates, help people with CVS and interview skills, and support to develop their career paths. There will also be 1:1 guidance and support to access relevant training, work or volunteering experience. The service will include a new employment advice worker, an IT skills trainer, and will maintain our existing ESOL tutor.
The Service will be delivered from New Cross Learning (Mondays and Fridays), and Somerville Youth and Play Provision (Tuesdays). 
We are currently recruiting the new staff, and hope to have the service up and running by June. Watch this space for further details. 
“We are thrilled to be able to deliver this new community service in New Cross Gate. It is our intention to deliver a high quality service that is useful and relevant to local people’s needs and aspirations. We are currently recruiting for the posts and we plan to launch the service in June this year” Jenny Couper, Strategy and Partnerships Manager, NXG Trust. 
To find out more about the posts, please contact jenny.couper@nxgtrust.org.uk. Closing date for applications is Monday 24th April. 

Massive Education Cuts will affect our children’s future

Schools in New Cross, as with the rest of the country, are facing massive cuts to their budgets. Lewisham schools are set to lose £21 Million from their budget by 2020 (spread over the next three years). 
This amounts to £600 per pupil and is the equivalent of 582 teachers jobs across the borough. The most costly item in any school budget is its staff – teachers and their support colleagues. These are the very people who our children depend on to have a positive, rewarding and inspiring education. 
the National Union of Teachers in Lewisham is very keen to fight the cuts to our children’s future. If you would like to find out more about the campaign to stop the education cuts in Lewisham, please contact nut@lewisham.gov.uk. 

Gardening Club at the Albany theatre

Come and join us every Wednesday and the last Saturday of every month for our gardening club. Help us make the Albany garden a beautiful and relaxing place for everyone – plant seeds, enjoy free workshops and learn more about planting, gardening and growing. No experience necessary, all equipment provided. All ages welcome but children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult.To register interest or find out more contact caz.burley@thealbany.org.uk or message or call 07342 282 991.

Knife Crime Awareness Campaign for New Cross Area

Since we covered the tragic death of Myron Isaac-Yarde back in April there have been several other stabbings in the area, with at least one other being fatal. The level of anxiety and worry for young people, parents and families fearing the same fate for young people they know and love is huge. This week several community groups and organisations got together to discuss what can be done to raise awareness about knife crime and build confidence and self esteem among boys and youth in the area. Representatives from Somerville Adventure Playground, New Cross Learning, Queens Road Surgery, Ubuntu Social Living Network and NXG Trust decided to raise funds for an ongoing knife crime awareness campaign that will include: an exhibition that can move around the area placed in public spaces to inform and educate  people about knife crime and how to avoid it; short term and ongoing workshops for young people and their families as well as positive activities for young people to get involved locally. The group is concerned to work both in and with schools as well as community organisations where youth and family are involved. 

Raising funds in a climate of cuts to services is not going to be easy but there is a firm determination that this initiative has to be an ongoing campaign that will have impact among young people and families in New Cross and the surrounding area. 

The next meeting is Tuesday 1 November. If you are from an organisation or local group with an interest in this initiative, please contact jill.mountford@nxgtrust.org.uk to fund out more details of the next meeting. If you would like to donate to this initiative, please visit our fundraising page at: www.localgiving.org/charity/nxgtrust/project/stopknives

Corals’ Planning Application – what can we do now?

On 30th August there was a community meeting at New Cross Learning to discuss the planning application that Corals have submitted to change Barclays Bank into a betting shop. Cllrs Paul Bell and Brenda Dacres were present at the meeting, as well as the planning officer and representatives from Corals. Attendees voiced a wide range of objections to this proposal including the impact on antisocial behaviour in the local area, the exploitation of more vulnerable members of the community, and the visual impact on a key building of local historical interest.
The planning officer confirmed that there have been at least 50 objections submitted, and that this will therefore go to a planning committee (date still to be set, but this is likely to be in October). 

Three of our local councillors have already objected to this planning application. However, this means that they have no vote at the pending planning committee meeting. It is therefore vital that we let all those councillors who are likely to decide this application know how opposed the community is to letting a betting shop take over what is a flagship building for the local area. 
If you feel strongly about this pending planning application, please let your objections be heard by writing to the councillors who may have a role in deciding this application. We do not yet know which planning committee will hear this application, therefore it is important that you contact ALL the relevant councillors via these email addresses: 

Planning Committee A
Cllr_Abdeslam.Amrani@lewisham.gov.uk, 
Cllr_Andre.Bourne@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Obajimi.Adefiranye@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Amanda.DeRyk@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Maja.Hilton@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Stella.Jeffrey@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Roy.Kennedy@lewisham.gov.uk
Cllr_Pat.Raven@lewisham.gov.uk
Cllr_Alan.Till@lewisham.gov.uk
Cllr_James-J.Walsh@lewisham.gov.uk

Planning Committee B
Cllr_Joan.Reid@lewisham.gov.uk (Chair)
Cllr_Olurotimi.Ogunbadewa@lewisham.gov.uk (Vice-Chair)
Cllr_Mark.Ingleby@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Alicia.Kennedy@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Jim.Mallory@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Hilary.Moore@lewisham.gov.uk, 
Cllr_ John.Muldoon@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Jacq.Paschoud@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Gareth.Siddorn@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Susan.Wise@lewisham.gov.uk

Planning Committee C
Cllr_Paul.Bell@lewisham.gov.uk (Chair)
Cllr_Simon.Hooks@lewisham.gov.uk (Vice-Chair)
Cllr_Peter.Bernards@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Suzannah.Clarke@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Liam.Curran@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Brenda.Dacres@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_Helen.Klier@lewisham.gov.uk, 
Cllr_Jamie.Milne@lewisham.gov.uk,
Cllr_John.Paschoud@lewisham.gov.uk

Lewisham’s Health and Social Care Directory

If you are looking for information on health and social care services near you, try Lewisham’s Health and Social Care Directory. This hosts information on a very wide range of services provided in the borough, from benefit advice to counselling, weight management and alcohol misuse to volunteering opportunities, as well as pharmacies, dentists, opticians and health centres.

 

Bereavement support service for children and young people

Changing Chapters are a community interest company supporting children (from aged 4 years), young people and vulnerable adults though bereavement, grief and loss, and related mental and emotional health problems. Email: info@changingchapters.com, tel: 07949 042127 or 07903711834.

www.changingchapters.com

The Primary Care Centre, Hawstead Road ,Catford, London SE6 4JH